The College Cliché

IMG_6807

This morning I walked out of my last Communications class of the semester. Instead of being thrilled that my 8 a.m. class is no more, I lingered as long as possible, not wanting to leave the classroom that has provided me with so much inspiration and opportunity this semester.

Coming to college you are bombarded with the idea that the next four years of your life WILL be the greatest. From the outside these years seem to be pretty care-free- when else do you have the chance to live with your best friends, make impulsive decisions and try out pretty much anything you want?

For me the past two years have absolutely been a whirlwind of fun and adventures but a larger part has been filled with studying, researching and generally worrying about the future. Where am I going to get an internship? Where do I want to work one day? What exact steps do I need to take to reach these goals? What GPA do I need? The list goes on and on. This is a product of my type-A, slightly OCD personality, but it is also a product of the society I live in, the world that pushes me towards material success and achievement. (Confession: I originally created this blog to write about PR and advertising things, but couldn’t find the inspiration until now to write. Note this isn’t about the latest and greatest social media trend.)

The thirty minute lecture I heard this morning was based on a concept most of us have been hearing our whole lives. “Be true to yourself, figure out who are, don’t be ashamed,” etc. But hearing my professor’s wife speak with such passion struck a chord with me. Listening to her talk about her family and the importance of being kind, forgiving and generous shook up my perspective. She was intent on expressing to us the value of understanding who we are and embracing that person. The balance of allowing yourself to be flawed, but not being complacent in that.

I am created for so much more than my GPA, my resume, my future job.

I am created with purpose, with love and with intention.

Over and over I am told about the vast opportunity available to me at this point in my life- I have the freedom to study anything I want, seek out a prestige job and set myself up for success.

But why should I limit this seemingly endless opportunity to this time in my life?

Choosing to follow Jesus pushes me out of my comfort zone every single day. That is the opportunity I want to strive for, that is something I want to pursue every single day for the rest of my life.

Perfection is overrated, empty and is simply not possible. I am human, I am imperfect and I am broken.

I am human, therefore I am flawed. However, being complacent in that is sure to bring me fleeting happiness and false hope.

My Interpersonal Communication class focused on interactions between humans across race, gender and socioeconomic lines pretty much any barrier you can imagine. And nearly every day when I left that class I was reminded of the huge mark we leave on every single person we interact with.

This class taught me so much more than interpersonal communication skills. It showed me in such a tangible way how our day to day actions shape so much of our lives.

While the last two years have been amazing, ridiculous and fun, they have also been incredibly hard, lonely and confusing. Growing up is hard, but starting to truly understand myself as a child of God is beautiful.

Here’s to the next two years of college and to choosing to step out of my comfort zone every day.

“It comes the very moment you wake up each morning. All your wishes and hopes for the day rush at you like wild animals. And the first job each morning consists simply in shoving them all back in; in listening to that other voice, taking that other point of view, letting that other larger, stronger, quieter life come flowing in. And so on, all day.”

-C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity 

Leave a Reply

